The Lab

The Lab is a nonprofit experimental art and performance space located in the Mission District of San Francisco.

Back to All Events

First Light: Chris Brown, Theresa Wong, Kyle Bruckmann

8pm Doors / 8:30pm Sound
$15 General / Free for members

Chris Brown, piano and computer
Theresa Wong, cello, voice, and amplification
Kyle Bruckmann, oboe and analog electronics

The trio performs compositions in just intonation by Chris Brown extended with free improvisations and interactive computer interventions.  This concert includes the world premiere of First Light, set to poetry by Jackson MacLow and harmonies composed using Harry Partch's 43-tone tuning.  Also included is the premiere of a restored version of Brown's signature work Snakecharmer (1988), for soloist and feedback network. Obelisk (2015), an improvisation structure in a 7-limit tuning for the trio with interactive electronics, rounds out the program.

CHRIS BROWN, composer, pianist, and electronic musician, creates music for acoustic instruments with interactive electronics, for computer networks, and for improvising ensembles.  Collaboration and improvisation are consistent themes in his work, along with the invention and performance of new electronic instruments and software.  Recordings of his music are available on New World, Tzadik,  Pogus, Intakt,  Rastascan, Ecstatic Peace, Red Toucan, SIRR, Leo, and Artifact labels. He teaches at Mills College and serves as Co-Director of the Center for Contemporary Music (CCM).

THERESA WONG is a cellist, vocalist, composer and improviser actively exploring the intersection where music meets with the creative spirit of experimentation, improvisation and the synergy of multiple disciplines. She has performed her music internationally at such venues as Fondation Cartier in Paris, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts in San Francisco, Fabbrica Europa in Florence Italy, Unlimited 21 Festival in Wels, Austria and at The Stone in New York City and have been awarded artist residencies at the Headlands Center for the Arts, Yaddo, Montalvo and Civitella Ranieri.

KYLE BRUCKMANN is a composer/performer and oboist whose work extends from a classical foundation into gray areas encompassing free jazz, electronic music and post-punk rock. He is a member of acclaimed new music collective sfSound, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, Eco Ensemble, Splinter Reeds.  From 1996-2003, he was a fixture in Chicago’s experimental music underground; long-term affiliations include the electro-acoustic duo EKG, the art-punk monstrosity Lozenge, and the Creative Music quintet Wrack.

Earlier Event: November 11
Light Field
Later Event: November 14
Alice Notley: The Descent of Alette